Authority: The Central Piedmont Regional Planning Commission was created by executive order in March 1969. In April 1972, the name of the agency was changed to Catawba Regional Planning Council. An intergovernmental agreement among counties was made in April 1972 pursuant to a Constitutional amendment ratified by the S.C. General Assembly of 1971 and Act 487 of 1967. In February 1999, the name was changed to the Catawba Regional Council of Governments.

Governing Body: A thirty-six member advisory board appointed by the applicable county governing body of the respective counties. Twenty four members are elected officials, the remaining twelve members are private citizens. Method of appointment of governing body prescribed in the Intergovernmental Agreement among the counties. A member County may petition to have the method of appoinment changed.

Term of Office: Elected officials serve their elective term, while private citizens serve three years or until a successor is appointed.

Function: To enter into and promote cooperative programs and coordinated action with and among its members, and other governmental and non-governmental entities. To study and make recommendations to its members regarding such matters it deems appropriate. To prepare and when necessary revise plans and programs to improve the areas governmental services, and to insure its orderly development. To perform technical assistance services. To perform technical assistance services for local governments upon request, provided that all arrangements for such services are approved by Council. To assist the local governments within the region in carrying out any plans and programs prepared and adopted by the Council.

Staff Liaison:

Randy Imler, Executive Director
Catawba Regional COG
PO Box 450
Rock Hill, SC 29731



Members Position Term
Eddie Lee York City Council with elected term
Doug Echols Rock Hill City Council with elected term
Kathy Bigham At-large May 2, 2017 (2nd term)
Greg F. Rutherford (vacant) At-large March 3, 2014 (2nd term)
Rob Youngblood (vacant) At-large March 3, 2014 (2nd term)
Susie B. Hinton Rock Hill City Council with elected term
Gwyn Savage Fort Mill Town Council with elected term
Tommy Pope SC House with elected term
Britt Blackwell York County Council with elected term
William "Bump" Roddey York County Council with elected term
George Sheppard Tega Cay City Council with elected term
Elaine J. Copeland Minority Representative October 3, 2017 (2nd term)
Jay Dover Town of Clover with elected term
Vacant At-large April 14, 2017 (1st term)
Chad Williams York County Council with elected term