Impact Fees

On July 16, 2018, County Council adopted Ordinance 7218 to implement and enforce impact fees on new development. Impact fees are intended to finance the public facilities necessitated by new development. To date, the only impact fees adopted by County Council are for local school districts.

Impact Fee Payments

Impact Fee payments can be made at the Planning & Development Services Department located at 18 W. Liberty Street, PO Box 96, York, SC 29745. 

York County does not accept credit card payments for impact fees. Checks are to be made payable to York County. An Impact Fee Application Form is required to be submitted with your payment. Requests for exemptions, refunds, or waivers can be made by submitting the Impact Fee Application Form as well.

*Please note, residential building permits are valid for six months from the date of approval. If no inspections are scheduled within this six month period, the permit will automatically expire. If the permit was issued prior to any new impact fees being implemented, impact fees will be charged upon renewing the permit.

  1. Clover School District

On September 8th, 2020 County Council passed an ordinance adopting Clover School District (CSD) public education facility impact fees. The established fees are set as follows: 

$4,000 per single-family residential unit

$1,976 per each unit in a multi-family development, including townhomes

$2,618 per mobile home

This new impact fee applies to all new residential development within the district, including in the Town of Clover and unincorporated York County within the CSD boundary.

The fee will be collected at the time a residential building permit is issued. The effective date of this new fee is Friday, January 15, 2021. If your permit application has been submitted, reviewed, and approved prior to 5:00 p.m. on January 14, 2021, you will not be charged the new impact fee.

Residential construction located within the town limits of Clover must still provide payment to York County’s Planning & Development Services Department before a building permit can be issued.

  1. Fort Mill School District