York County SC Homepage

York County Courts

Bond Court:

In addition to the Magistrate Court’s located in the Townships, there is also a Bond Court located at the Moss Justice Center inside of the York County Detention Center. The Bond Court is open for business 365 days a year for 24 hours a day and a Judge is on duty at all times.

Clerk of Court:

The Clerk of Court is an elected official who serves a 4-year term. The Clerk of Court serves both the Circuit Court and Family Court, and is responsible for docket management, receipt of fees, fines and costs, maintenance of all court records and submission of reports to a variety of state and federal agencies. Circuit Court is divided into General Sessions (Criminal) and Common Pleas (Civil) cases. Additionally under the direction of the Clerk of Court is the Passport Office and Register of Deeds Office.

Magistrate Court: 

Magistrates are county judges that are appointed to four-year terms by the Governor upon the advice and consent of the South Carolina Senate. Magistrates serve the county in which they are appointed and exercise county wide jurisdiction.
York County is divided into five geographical areas called townships. There is one Judge for each of the townships.  Magistrates preside over:

-Civil, criminal and traffic cases

-Consider petitions for restraining orders

-Issue search and arrest warrants and conduct bond hearings

-Preliminary hearings

-Bench trials

-Jury trials

Master in Equity:

The function of the Master in Equity is to hear and decide all non-jury civil cases in the County, and to conduct judicial sales of real estate. View Master in Equity Auctions.

Probate Court:

The court handles various matters including the administration of decedents’ estates, the issuance of marriage licenses, the appointment of guardians and conservators, and involuntary commitments. It is headed by an elected probate judge who serves a four-year term.

16th Judicial Circuit of South Carolina

Public Defender (16th Judicial Circuit/York and Union Counties):

 The 16th Circuit Public Defender Office provides legal representation to qualifying individuals charged with criminal offenses in York and Union County, S.C. 

 Solicitor’s Office (16th Judicial Circuit/York and Union Counties): 

The York County Solicitor’s Offices handles general sessions cases, juvenile cases, pre-trial intervention and victim/witness assistance.

York’s General Sessions Court Docket:

Government Websites by CivicPlus®
Arrow Left Arrow Right
Slideshow Left Arrow Slideshow Right Arrow