York County SC Homepage

County Council

Welcome to York County, which is recognized as one of the fastest growing counties in the State of South Carolina. York County is comprised of nine municipalities to include, the towns of Clover, Fort Mill, Hickory Grove, McConnells, Sharon, and Smyrna; and the cities of Rock Hill, Tega Cay, and York. Each municipality offers its uniqueness from rural to urban surroundings, and share in a rich cultural heritage. Recognized for its high quality of life, York County also offers a highly skilled workforce and sustainable economy that provides balanced growth and complements a healthy environment. The County Council takes pride in always striving to be the most business friendly county in the State. The citizens are informed and active partners, working together with dedicated and responsive government, to anticipate challenges and achieve innovative solutions. 


York County Council meetings present an opportunity for the Council to hear from the public and for citizens to watch their Government and elected officials carry out their public duties and responsibilities.  

Should any person, group, or organization request to be heard upon any matter at a regular or special meeting of Council, such person, group, or organization should contact the Clerk to Council at 803-628-3954 at least 10 days prior to the Council meeting date.   Please note: this option is limited to 2 speakers per Council meeting and is on a first come, first serve basis.  This will allow anyone a maximum of 6 minutes to speak on their topic.  The person, group, or organization will need to specifically give the reason for the appearance and the Clerk will consult with the County Manager to confirm placement on the agenda.  Another option is to sign up on the sheet at the door of the Council Chambers the evening of the Council meeting, just before it begins.  This will allow anyone 2 minutes to speak on their topic.  A request is not required in advance for this selection.  Please note: this option is limited to 15 speakers and is on a first come, first serve basis.  Any presentations or powerpoints that the person, group or organization would like displayed during the Council meeting, should be sent to the Clerk to Council on the same day as the request to appear on the agenda.  No flash drives will be accepted the night of the meeting.  

No matter shall be entered on the agenda or heard by the Council unless it is within the Council's authority or jurisdiction.  

No requests for funding may be made by presenters slated for an appearance in the Citizens Concerns section of the Council Agenda. 

No presentation relating to ongoing litigation is permitted in the Citizens Concerns section of the Council Agenda.  

No presenter, group. or organization may appear more than once every six months. 

All persons speaking before the Council are required to do so in a respectful and civil manner.  The Council wants to hear your suggestions, concerns or complaints but will not tolerate personal attacks on individual Council members, county staff or any other person or group, including the use of demeaning or vulgar language.  

The Council's number one priority is to conduct business for the citizens of this County and to make everyone feel welcome to attend and express their opinions.  Therefore, all citizens who wish to address the Council or individual Council members should do so in a calm and appropriate manner. 

Click here to view the entire ordinance.


Click on the Council members picture to learn more about them and get their contact information.

Christi Cox
Council Chairwoman
District 5

Christi Cox

Allison Love
Council Vice-Chairwoman
District 2

Allison Love

Tom Audette
District 1

Tom Audette

Tommy Adkins
District 3

Tommy Outside

William "Bump" Roddey
District 4

Bump Roddey

A. Watts Huckabee, Sr.
District 6

Watts Huckabee  Councilmember District Six

Debi Cloninger
District 7

Debi Outside

Government Websites by CivicPlus®
Arrow Left Arrow Right
Slideshow Left Arrow Slideshow Right Arrow