Public Safety Communications


The Department of Public Safety Communications is the primary Public Safety Answering Point (PSAP) for York County.  As the PSAP, we are staffed 24 hours a day to answer 9-1-1 emergency calls and dispatch police, fire or medical services to those we serve.  We utilize state-of –the-art telephone, mapping, and mobile communications systems and software to provide reliable and rapid response to emergency calls.


There are five divisions of Public Safety Communications that work together to provide leadership, emergency information and communications technologies, and extensive training to our staff and customer agencies:

  • 9-1-1 Addressing
  • Administration
  • Technical Services & Radio Communications
  • Telecommunications
  • Training


  • Answer all 9-1-1 calls within York County
  • Dispatch and coordinate all of the York County Sheriff's Office’s and Tega Cay Police Department’s calls for service
  • Dispatch and coordinate calls for service for the (18) county and municipal fire departments, (3) Emergency Medical Services, and the Coroner’s Office
  • Provide 800 megahertz mobile communications network and technical services to all first responders in York County.
  • Provide street addressing services
  • Initial and continuing education for staff and partner agencies
  • Serve as the county's 24-hour warning point for emergency notification from the National Weather Service, Catawba Nuclear Station, and the South Carolina Emergency Management Division
  • Provide after business hours answering and dispatching services for Animal Control, the Department of Social Services, Office of Fire Safety, Office of Emergency Management and the American Red Cross


Public Safety Communications has been awarded accreditation by the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies (CALEA) for successfully meeting all best practice standards of its Public Safety Communications Accreditation program.

The York County Department of Public Safety Communications is one of 99 stand-alone communications centers to be awarded this accreditation. There are only 7 accredited communication centers in South Carolina.


Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials (APCO) - Training Program Certification

Training for Public Safety Telecommunicators, initial and continuing, is exceedingly important as they provide essential services to the public in an ever-expanding and rapidly changing public safety environment. The APCO Project 33 Agency Training Program Certification is a formal mechanism for public safety agencies to certify their training programs as meeting APCO American National Standards (ANS). Agencies applying for certification submit their curriculum, training materials and supporting documentation for certification and compliance. The primary objective of the Agency Training Program Certification is to enhance and maintain an agencies training program and professional development for all employees. This program maintains that the agency strives to promote excellence in all areas of training to better serve their communities and reduce liabilities. Agencies must re-certify every three years in order to confirm that they remain in compliance.

Building and implementing a successful agency training program requires many resources and a good deal of dedication. Submitting for certification demonstrates the agency’s commitment to training and to meeting national standards. Receiving certification for a training program is a major accomplishment for the agency, its staff and the community it serves.

The York County Department of Public Safety Communications was awarded this certification in 2018. 

apco training logo