There are nine municipalities within York County. Click on the links below to view specific demographic information about these major cities and towns.


Located in the northwestern corner of York County, this peaceful town of roughly 5,094 residents (according to the 2010 Census) is rich in historic ambience and antique shopping. One of the annual highlights here is June’s Feis Chlobhair, a festival established to celebrate the community’s Irish heritage.

Fort Mill

Southern hospitality is well intact in Fort Mill, one of the fastest growing communities in this region. Careful urban planning complements the beautiful Anne Close-Springs Greenway with architecture and roadways that fit the pleasant landscape. Given its close proximity to Charlotte, many of the town’s 10,800 plus residents commute there for work, while a sizable number are employed at nearby Springs Global US, Inc., one of the nation’s largest textile manufacturing firms.

Hickory Grove

Hickory Grove is located in York County, South Carolina and had a population of 440 in 2010.


McConnells is located in York County, South Carolina and had a population of 255 in 2010. McConnells is also near Historic Brattonsville, a 775-acre historic site that includes a Revolutionary War battlefield.

Rock Hill

Rock Hill, the largest city in York County, is the fifth largest in the state of South Carolina. As the commercial center of this region, this city is home to numerous businesses and institutions, including the renowned campus of Winthrop University. Some 66,154 people live in greater Rock Hill, which is in the midst of numerous dynamic projects, from the greening of Cherry Road to the establishment of a fifth business park.


Sharon is located in York County, South Carolina and had a population of 494 in 2010.


Smyrna is located in York County, South Carolina and had a population of 45 in 2010.

Tega Cay

Located on a 1,600 acre peninsula bordered by Lake Wylie, Tega Cay is a community distinguished by its strong emphasis on quality of life. Loosely translated, the municipality’s name means “beautiful peninsula” in a Polynesian dialect, which is a perfect label given the town’s safe, friendly atmosphere. Tega Cay is a recreational paradise, offering its more than 7,620 residents public golf, tennis and swimming facilities, with numerous marinas, and abundant hiking and biking trails.


The City of York, located in the western part of York County and is equidistant between the I-77 and I-85 corridors. York is the county seat of York County and enjoys an intimate character of a small friendly community with a strong historic core and a traditional lifestyle offering a desirable alternative to life in the larger metro areas. According to the 2010 Census, there were 7,736 residents.