Greetings from the Chairman...

Welcome to York County, which is recognized as one of the fastest growing counties in the State of South Carolina. York County is comprised of nine municipalities to include, the towns of Clover, Fort Mill, Hickory Grove, McConnells, Sharon, and Smyrna; and the cities of Rock Hill, Tega Cay, and York. Each municipality offers its uniqueness from rural to urban surroundings, and share in a rich cultural heritage. Recognized for its high quality of life, York County also offers a highly skilled workforce and sustainable economy that provides balanced growth and complements a healthy environment. The County Council takes pride in always striving to be the most business friendly county in the State. 
The citizens are informed and active partners, working together with dedicated and responsive government, to anticipate challenges and achieve innovative solutions. Again, welcome to York County Government's official website. It is our hope that you will enjoy the website and find it to be beneficial.


Dr. J. Britt Blackwell, O.D.
Chairman, York County Council

Functions and General Information:

York County offers a professionally managed government that is responsive to the needs of taxpayers. A seven member County Council is the governing body. Their responsibilities include adopting the County budget, setting the County property tax rate and determining the goals and objectives to provide efficient services to citizens. Daily operations are directed by the County Manager, who is appointed by the Council. The Council meets the first and third Mondays of each month beginning at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers, Agricultural Building, 6 South Congress Street, York, South Carolina. The Council encourages citizen involvement and wants to insure that everyone has an ample opportunity to present information and express opinions. Citizens who wish to address the Council may do so at a scheduled public hearing or by contacting the Clerk to Council at (803) 628-3954.